YAMHILL CARLTON SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 1

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Yamhill Carlton School District Board Room 120 N. Larch Place, Yamhill, OR 97148

Monday, May 7th, 2018

Budget Committee Meeting I- 7:00 p.m.

MINUTES

Board Members: Jami Egland, Susan FitzGerald. Ken Watson, & Jack Bib

Budget Committee Members: Murray Paolo, Gordon Dromgoole, Erin Galyean, Mark Gaibler, and John Donahoo.

DO/Administration Staff: Superintendent Charan Cline, Business Manager Tami Zigler, Board Secretary Michelle Rettke, YCIS Associate Principal Chad Tollefson, YCES Principal Lauren Berg, YCHS Principal Greg Neuman

Also Present: E. Chadwick

- I. Call to Order Budget Committee—7:00 p.m. by Budget Committee Past Vice Chair, J. Egland
- II. Select Committee Chair
 - S. FitzGerald motioned to nominate and approve M. Paolo to serve as Chair. J. Donahoo Seconded. All in favor motion carried.
 - S. FitzGerald motioned to nominate and approve E. Galyean to serve as Vice Chair. J. Egland Seconded. All in favor, motion carried.
- III. Delivery of Budget Message

See attached Budget Message and Power Point Presentation

Move of Special Programs Director back to district office will allow us to address the growing number of students who have special needs and support staff effectively.

Would like to get the contingency to \$1,000,000. 5% of budget as a contingency would be a good target to reach.

Continue to be aware of how declining enrollment affects the budget and address it proactively.

J. Donahooo commented that the district has done a great job on the budget this year.

IV. Public Comment

- J. Donahoo moved that the budget committee of the Yamhill Carlton School District #1 approve the budget for the 2018-19 fiscal year in the amount of \$23,570,118 (General Fund = \$11,021,974, Special Revenue Funds = \$1,580,989, Debt Services Fund = \$3,042,423, Construction Fund = \$7,882,732, and Trust and Agency Funds = \$42,000). K. Watson seconded. All in favor, motion carried.
- J. Donahoo moved that the budget committee of the Yamhill Carlton School District #1 approve the property taxes for the 2018-19 fiscal year at the rate of \$4.7818 per \$1,000 of assessed value for the

permanent rate tax levy and in the amount of \$1,501,429 for the general obligation bond levy. S. FitzGerald seconded. All in favor, motion carried.

With no further business to discuss, M. Paolo adjourned the meeting at 8:18 pm.

Minutes by: Michelle Rettke, Board Secretary